Share on facebook
Compartir en Facebook
Share on twitter
Compartir en Twitter
Share on google
Compartir entrada

When designing, planning, building or hiring a Data Center, there are aspects that must be taken into account. Such as the regulations, certificates and laws that must be met if this system is to perform its function correctly and to do so within adequate parameters.

The concept of Tier indicates the level of reliability of a data center associated with four levels of availability, this means that the larger the number or class of the Tier, the greater the availability of the service, and therefore, the higher costs associated with its construction. and more time to do it.

Tier 1 is the basic data center:

  • It is constituted for small and medium-sized companies.
  • It is an installation that does not have its vital redundant components (air conditioning, electrical supply) and that therefore will lose its operating capacity when any of them fail.
  • A disadvantage of this level is that in case maintenance is required, it will be necessary to stop its activity completely, so business continuity can be interrupted several times.
  • The average implementation time is 3 months. Availability is 99.671%.

Tier 2 is a redundant data center

  • They have vital redundant systems, like refrigeration, but they have only one electrical supply path. Redundant components (N + 1)
  • It has a connection to a single electrical and refrigeration distribution line.
  • In case of maintenance, the interruption of service is also required here.
  • It has raised floors, standby generators or UPS.
  • The implementation time on average is 3 to 6 months.
  • 99.741% availability.

Tier 3 is a Concurrently Maintainable Data Center.

  • Focused on companies that provide a 24/7 service, that is, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
  • It is connected to multiple lines of electrical distribution and refrigeration, although with only one active.
  • What is remarkable about this level and an advantage over the previous two, is that for its maintenance it is not necessary to paralyze the system, since its capacity is totally ideal to deliver the service through other lines.
  • It has significant levels of fault tolerance as it has all the basic redundant equipment including the power supply, allowing an Active / Passive configuration.
  • Redundant components (N + 1).
  • The update can be performed without service interruption.
  • The implementation time on average is 15 to 20 months.
  • 99.982% availability.

Tier 4 or fault tolerant data center:

  • Focused for companies with a global presence.
  •  It stands out for its tolerance to faults, since it is connected to several electrical distribution and refrigeration lines.
  • This level allows you to follow the functions of a business during maintenance without affecting service.
  • It has connected multiple electrical and cooling distribution lines with multiple redundant 2 (N + 1) components,
  • The average implementation time is 20 months.
  • 99.995% availability.

To learn more about these and other solutions, contact us through our sales consultants at